top of page

Sunny and 75 and Sentimental

There's something special about a 75° day at UNC. Everyone sits on the quad with their friends, doing work, and just enjoying the sunshine and the place around them. It’s the same quad that is transformed into a snowball battlefield on a snow day, a concert venue for Sunset Serenade, and a prime tailgate spot on a Saturday afternoon in the fall. Something about it makes me very sad that I have to leave this beautiful place in just eight short weeks.

While I know that there's also something to be said for enjoying the things I have done and moving on to the next, it's hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that in six weeks I will have taken my last college class, written my last paper, and taken my last final. In seven weeks, I'll be getting ready to graduate, and I'll be packing up ready to move away from this place that has become truly my home over the last four years.

As I sit here on the quad and watch people enjoying the sunshine, I see the baby-faced high school students on their campus tours and can't help but wish that I could take their place and do this all over again. Because they're about to start the best four years of their life. I wish I could go back to freshman year, moving into Craige dorm, meeting roommates and new friends for the first time, trying to find my first class and pronouncing all the buildings wrong, going to Fall Fest and not knowing which clubs to sign up for but being excited to figure it out all the same.

And though I wish I could go back and do it all over again, I know that if I did, I wouldn't change a thing. Sitting here on this 75° day, looking out over the place where I have made so many memories these last four years, I feel sad, but I also feel so lucky.

Photo credits: Google images

WRITTEN BY CAITLIN

VISIT MY WEBSITE

ARCHIVES

bottom of page