top of page

Breathe

I couldn’t breathe. It was only 2 p.m., over 7 hours until tip-off, and I still couldn’t breathe. I had finished my last class of the day and now all I had left to do was wait. Wait like I had been doing for 364 days since that heartbreaker against Villanova. The day had arrived and I was ready, but I couldn’t breathe.

And then it was 8. My friends and I were already in our seats, sitting around a blank tv, coolers filled and pretending to be more excited than nervous, though no one believed it.

And then it was starting. Oh my gosh it was starting and I wasn’t mentally ready for it but here we were and Kennedy had gotten the tip-off and it was happening. But things weren’t going well. Theo missed passes and Justin couldn’t hit a three and I was having horrible flashbacks to last year and the worst day of my college career. We were on the edge of seats.

And then suddenly there was only 25 seconds left. Isaiah made the jumper then Kennedy made a block and we were in the lead. We were standing up, holding our breath, not wanting to cheer too soon in fear of jinxing the whole thing.

7 seconds left. And I couldn’t breathe.

And then it was over. The buzzer sounded and the streamers fell. I was half screaming, half hyperventilating. We were hugging. I was crying but no tears were falling. We couldn’t believe it was happening – we had just won a National Championship. It was our senior year.

And then we were running. I was running faster than I’ve ever ran before; me and 55,000 of my closest friends were charging Franklin Street, cheering so loud I’m sure no one has a voice today. Someone handed me a newspaper that read, “National Champions.” And then the tears finally fell, streaming down my face in happiness, overwhelmed with emotion. The alma mater was ringing loud, one group chanting “priceless gem” while another had raced ahead to “go to hell Duke.”

And then I said to myself, “Take it all in. Remember this moment, right now.” And remember it I will. This night. These people. This place that has given me the best memories of my life. A National Championship. This memory that I will talk about for the rest of my lifetime – the best day to be a Tar Heel.

And at last, I could breathe.

Photo credits: New York Times (top), Pooja Iyer @picsbypooqs (bottom)

WRITTEN BY CAITLIN

VISIT MY WEBSITE

ARCHIVES

bottom of page